More Than Words

Last post I mentioned something about there being ways I need to do some “rule breaking” in regards to helping others that are less fortunate than myself.

As a writer, I want my words to matter. To make a difference in the lives of others either by enriching, entertaining, or critiquing.

I am also capable of more than words.

I can go, do, and support worthy causes in more ways than “bringing awareness” which seems to have become something of a dirty phrase. I think of awareness in the same way I think of calculus, it’s something to learn that may or may not have an influence in your daily life.

One of the ideas that came to mind was starting a group called, “More Than Words,” meant for authors to help donate a proceed of their book sales (most likely ebooks) to some important cause. My brother-in-law recently came back from Africa. He went through a group called Compassion International that sponsors children to buy them food, clothing and school tuition. Sponsors are even encouraged to write them letters back and forth to them. It’s cool organization, but I don’t think sponsoring kids is what I’d want to do with my group.

Ideas I had were more simple. Helping groups like Bloodwater Mission bring clean water to areas where it is scarce or they don’t have the resources to build clean wells. Mosquito nets are always a much needed commodity in parts of the world where malaria runs rampant. I think the idea of buying nets appeals to me the most because they aren’t very expensive so an author doesn’t have to sell thousands of books and give 5-10% to make any kind of impact.

Unfortunately, I don’t know how much time I can put forth in this effort. I have a little time here and there, but I don’t like going into anything half-measure. Is this something you think other authors would get on board with or do you think I’m in over my head?

About Keith Osmun

Writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

